ENSOE X BERST EXCHANGE

Last week I had a chance to paint a sketch that was drawn for me by Berst Tmd from New Zealand. I had been meaning to paint this sketch for some time now, but I think siting on it for awhile helped in the long run. My original idea was to paint more of a literal translation of the piece, with a simple colour scheme. But I ended up doing quite the opposite. By interpreting the sketch through my own style and influencing the colours from my own recent work as well as Berst’s, the peice took on a style and mind of its own. It was a definite challenge to say the least. Sometimes I thought Berst may be trying to test me with all the technical aspects of the sketch he gave me! I had to battle the rain to get this piece finished! Thanks again Berst! Had a great time!

e.

Here are some progress shots showing the approach I took.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

